Posts tagged with 'traffic-safety-checkpoint'

Being charged with a DUI is no laughing matter, and you need reliable representation. We have experience representing clients charged with DUI's throughout Boone, Campbell, Kenton, and other Northern Kentucky Counties. If convicted for your first DUI or OVI you face a range of stiff penalties starting with a $200 to $500 fine; 2 to 30 days jail time (possibly substituting community labor for jail time); court costs; DUI service fee; treatment program fee; County and State fees; 90 days in an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program; and 30-120 days revoked license with ability to apply for a hardship license. 

But the penalties do not stop there. In Kentucky there are a number of situations that can lead to a DUI or OVI being charged as aggravated. Some of those situations include going more than 30 miles per hour over the speed limit, and going the wrong direction on a limited access highway, operating a motor vehicle that causes an accident that results in death or serious physical injury, operating with a blood alcohol concentration above 0.15 % within 2 hours of operating a vehicle, refusing to submit to blood, urine, or breathalyzer tests after probable cause has been established, and operating a motor vehicle that is transporting a passenger under 12 years of age. If an aggravator is present and you are convicted of an aggravated DUI, then you will be subjected to MANDATORY jail time.

In 2016 the Kentucky Legislature voted to increase the lookback period for DUI's, increasing the lookback period from five years to ten years. Kentucky Courts have interpreted this to mean that even if you pled guilty or were convicted before the enactment of the new law, you are still subject to the ten year lookback period. There are four different offense levels for DUI's in Kentucky. Each level above the first level carries harsher penalties and may be stacked with an aggravator's mandatory jail time.

Contact us today if you have been charged with a DUI. We will investigate your case, including obtaining records from every source available, and advise you on your best course of action. We can also give you a crash course in how to handle interactions with Police Officers, to limit the evidence collected against you. Call us at any time, even before you have ever been pulled over. We are happy to educate anyone on how to limit their exposure, no charge! (859) 291-5555.